Your Financial Plan



I am 34, working abroad in an engineering company. My wife (32) and daughter (4) live in India. My parents are farmers and are financially dependent on me. After 10 years, I will return to India. I have invested only in fixed deposits. How can I reach my goals?

Parameswaran

Wealth supports your early return. With your current investments, you can envisage returning to India in five years. Since you plan to work after your return, even if you earn just enough to maintain your life-style and fund your daughter’s secondary education, you can live comfortably in India and spend time with your family than live away from them in an African country.

Although you have not spread your investments to equity, you have utilised your surplus well. If you park your fixed deposits in an asset allocation of 50:50 in equity mutual fund and debt, you can meet all the goals, barring retirement.

You need a retirement corpus of ₹3.3 crore. So, if you deploy the monthly surplus of ₹95,000 at 12 per cent return, in five years it will be ₹77.5 lakh. This can be utilised as an emergency fund and for your vacation. During your next visit, try buying a term insurance with a public sector insurer.

The writer is a registered investment advisor and founder, myassetsconsolidation.com Send your queries to blinefp@gmail.com

c:set var="prUrl" value="https://premium.thehindubusinessline.com" />

Read further by subscribing to

The Hindu Businessline

What You'll Get

  • Web + Mobile

    Access exclusive content of the Hindu Businessline across desktops, tablet and mobile device.


  • Exclusive portfolio stories and investment advice

    Gain exclusive market insights from the Hindu Businessline's research desk.


  • Ad free experience

    Experience cleaner site with zero ads and faster load times.


  • Personalised dashboard

    Customize your preference and get a personalized recommendation of stories based on your intrest.

Related

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor